Image: Cyndie Lack, 2017

Charles Mervyn Ruggles Award

This award commemorates the distinguished achievements of Charles Mervyn Ruggles (1912-2001) in the development of the conservation profession in Canada. As CAC’s first honorary member, it is appropriate that our first award for outstanding contribution to the field carry his name. Recipients of this award will be celebrated for their contribution and achievement in conservation science, treatment, training and/or education, and for their development work in the field of conservation in Canada, and for promoting the ethics and ideals expressed in the CAC/CAPC Code of Ethics and Guidance for Practice.


To encourage the pursuit of excellence in the conservation field in Canada.


The award consists of a certificate, a $500 gift, and free registration for the Conference and banquet at which the award is made. If the recipient of the Award is not able to attend either Conference or banquet, no cash compensation for registration and banquet fees will be offered. The value and frequency of the award may change according to resources available.

The recipient of the Charles Mervyn Ruggles award will be announced at the annual Conference of the CAC. An announcement of the award and a description of the recipient’s achievements will also be
published in the September issue of the CAC Bulletin.


Nominees must:

  • be members in good standing of the CAC
  • have made an outstanding contribution in conservation science, treatment, training and/or education, or
  • for development work in a field of conservation in Canada (e.g. through publications, lectures, educational activities, leadership, or advocacy), or
  • for promoting the ethics and ideals expressed in the CAC/CAPC Code of Ethics and Guidance for Practice.

Nominees may work in any type of employment (private practice, institutional, educational, etc.). There are no restrictions on the number of times an individual can be nominated, but an individual may receive this Award only once. Posthumous nominations may be considered. The nominee must have been a member of CAC at some point in his/her career.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for this award may be submitted by any CAC member in good standing, either individual or institutional. The nominator is responsible for informing the nominee and ensuring the accuracy of the information provided.

The nomination package will consist of:

  • completed nomination form
  • two letters of support for the nomination (Note that persons supporting nominations do not have to be members of the CAC)
  • a resume or curriculum vitae for the person (no longer than 3 pages)


Eligible nominations will be adjudicated by a special ad hoc committee consisting of:

  • the President of the CAC (Chair)
  • one CAC member in good standing and working in a field of conservation in Canada
  • one person working in a field of cultural conservation in Canada or elsewhere, and who may or may not be a member of CAC.

The Board of Directors of the CAC will approve the appointment of members to this ad hoc Adjudication Committee.

Deadlines and Decision

The deadline for submitting the nomination package is January 31. The Adjudication Committee will recommend a recipient to the CAC Board of Directors by April 1. The final decision on the award rests with the CAC Board of Directors, and will be made by May 1 of the year of the award.

Please note that the details regarding this award may change to reflect procedural improvements, budget changes, etc.. Please check the CAC website for the most recent information regarding this award.

If you have any questions or comments about this program, please contact:

CAC Grants and Awards Committee