Le Journal de l’ACCR

Le Journal de l’Association canadienne pour la conservation et la restauration (J.ACCR) est le journal révisé par des pairs de l’Association canadienne pour la conservation et la restauration des biens culturels (ACCR). Le J.ACCR a succédé au Journal de l’Institut international pour la conservation – Groupe canadien (J.IIC-GC) en 1997. Un numéro est publié par année, en version papier et électronique, et ses articles décrivent des développements en matière de traitements de restauration, de recherche, d’histoire et de théorie pour nos membres et pour les acteurs du domaine de la restauration au Canada et à l’étranger.

Pour acheter un numéro du J.ACCR, veuillez contacter l’adjointe administrative de l’ACCR: administrator@cac-accr.ca.

Journal of the International Institute for Conservation - Canadian Group

J.IIC-GC

Volumes Archivés

Accès libre

Archived Journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation

J.ACCR

Volumes Archivés

Accès libre

Recent Journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation

J.ACCR

Volumes Récents

Portail des membres

Soumission de manuscrits

Nous invitons les lecteurs à soumettre des articles, des notes, des lettres ou des critiques de livre, rédigés en français ou en anglais. La rédaction encourage en particulier la soumission d’articles décrivant des solutions novatrices à des problèmes de restauration (des cas particuliers) ou traitant de recherches originales en méthodologie de la restauration et en science des matériaux ainsi que des études portant sur des artefacts et l’histoire de l’art du point de vue de la conservation-restauration. Les communications portant sur des tutoriels et les rapports seront aussi considérés.

Les articles peuvent être proposés toute l’année. Les articles comptent normalement entre 2 500 et 5 000 mots, mais nous acceptons également les notes techniques plus courtes. La pertinence, l’exactitude et l’originalité du manuscrit sont évaluées par au moins deux experts du sujet abordé. Les opinions des experts serviront au comité de rédaction afin de décider de publier ou non le manuscrit et s’il faut éditer son contenu. Les manuscrits retenus pour publication seront édités pour respecter les exigences de style du J.ACCR et pour en assurer l’exactitude, la cohérence et le caractère complet. Le processus de révision par les pairs et d’édition prend de trois à six mois. Une fois les éditions terminées, les articles sont publiés dans le volume en cours de préparation.

Un manuscrit qui est soumis au Journal ne doit pas avoir été déjà publié, sauf sous forme de rapport préliminaire, et ne doit pas être considéré pour publication ou en cours de publication par un autre éditeur.

Les manuscrits peuvent être envoyés en format électronique à l’adresse courriel du Journal (journal@cac-accr.ca), idéalement sous forme de fichier Microsoft Word. Pour la première étape de révision par les pairs, l’adoption du style du J.ACCR tel que décrit ci-dessous est recommandée, sans être obligatoire, tant que tous les renseignements requis sont inclus et que le manuscrit est lisible et bien organisé. L’intégration de figures et de tableaux dans le texte est encouragée, mais il faut les soumettre dans un fichier à part une fois l’article accepté pour publication. Il est possible d’utiliser dans le manuscrit initial les options de formatage automatique, comme les notes de pied de page et la pagination, mais celles-ci devront être enlevées par les auteurs lors de l’étape d’édition finale. La pertinence et la clarté des manuscrits sont vérifiées à leur réception et les manuscrits peuvent être renvoyés aux auteurs aux fins d’édition pour respecter les exigences minimales, au besoin, avant la révision par les pairs.

Style du J.ACCR

Les manuscrits retenus pour publication seront édités pour respecter le style du J.ACCR tel qu’il est décrit ci-dessous. Nous invitons les auteurs à prendre connaissance de ces exigences stylistiques avant de préparer leur manuscrit. L’équipe de rédaction s’assurera que les détails concernant le style de publication sont respectés. Pour obtenir des modèles du style actuel du Journal, veuillez consulter les volumes publiés depuis 2016.

Un modèle de manuscrit du J.ACCR comprenant les lignes directrices peut être téléchargé ci-dessous.

Titre : Placé en haut du manuscrit, doit refléter le contenu de manière précise et concise.

Auteur(s) : Liste de toutes les personnes ayant contribué au contenu de l’article, par ordre de contribution.

Coordonnées : Inclure l’institution ou l’entreprise actuelle, l’adresse postale complète et les adresses de courriel des auteurs. Utiliser les superpositions liées aux noms des auteurs pour indiquer les coordonnées de plusieurs auteurs.

Résumé : Résumez l’objectif de l’article et les principaux résultats obtenus dans un paragraphe de 200 mots ou moins. Intégrer le plus de mots-clés possible pour faciliter les recherches en ligne. Les résumés seront publiés en français et en anglais. Les auteurs en mesure de fournir leur résumé dans les deux langues sont encouragés à le faire.

Texte : Utilisez des titres et des sous-titres (jusqu’à trois niveaux) pour donner une structure à votre article. La plupart des articles ont une introduction (ou un historique) au début et une conclusion permettant de brièvement résumer l’article à la fin. Les rapports de recherche scientifique comprennent généralement des sections comme la méthodologie, les résultats et une discussion.

Unités et nomenclature : Les unités du SI (http://www.bipm.fr/) doivent être employées, de même que la nomenclature chimique IUPAC (International Union of Pure & Applied Chemistry – http://www.iupac.org/nomenclature).

Tableaux : Les tableaux doivent être numérotés selon leur ordre d’apparition au moyen de chiffres romains et munis d’un titre. Ils doivent être cités en caractères gras (p. ex. Tableau II) dans le texte et décrits.

Figures : Les figures (p. ex., photographies, graphiques, diagrammes ou dessins, radiographies, micrographies), numérotées au moyen de chiffres arabes, doivent être citées en caractères gras (p. ex., Figure 3) dans le corps du texte. Veuillez fournir une légende d’une ligne ou deux qui décrit de manière concise chaque image à l’écart du texte et contient la référence photographique et la permission d’utiliser les images, le cas échéant. Les images connexes peuvent être regroupées et identifiées par une combinaison de chiffres et de lettres (p. ex., 1A, 1B).

Une fois le texte accepté pour publication, nous demanderons aux auteurs de fournir les figures individuelles séparément, en haute résolution, et de dresser la liste des légendes sur une page séparée, à la fin de l’article. L’auteur doit fournir les photographies en format JPEG ou TIFF sauvegardé avec compression minimale afin d’assurer une résolution suffisante lors d’une impression à 300 ppp. Par exemple, une image de 3,5 pouces par 2,5 pouces devra être d’au moins 1050 x 750 pixels ou environ 2,5 Mo. Pour référence, tout fichier JPEG de moins de 400 Ko approximativement ne sera probablement pas suffisant pour une reproduction. Donnez aux graphiques et aux diagrammes une largeur de 3,5 ou 7,5 pouces ou envoyez-les dans un format (p. ex., un fichier Excel) nous permettant de modifier la taille et les polices de caractère pour correspondre à la mise en page finale. Les diagrammes et graphiques fournis sous forme d’image doivent être d’une résolution d’au moins 600 ppp lors de la reproduction finale.

Impression couleur : Le Journal encourage la publication d’images en couleur et partage les frais d’impression avec les auteurs. Les auteurs ne doivent payer aucuns frais relativement aux images en couleurs affichées sur le site de l’ACCR.

Remerciements : Vous pouvez ajouter de brefs remerciements, au besoin, à la suite du texte.

Matériaux : Les matériaux mentionnés dans l’article comme ayant été utilisés dans le traitement ou l’étude doivent être énumérés en ordre alphabétique à la fin de l’article, après les remerciements, en indiquant leur désignation commerciale, leur composition (si elle est connue) et le nom du fabricant ou d’un fournisseur local ainsi qu’une adresse postale complète avec numéro de téléphone ou un site web.

Annexes : D’autres renseignements détaillés, comme la méthodologie ou des tableaux de données, peuvent être inclus sous forme d’annexes. Si plus d’une annexe est ajoutée, il faut les numéroter de manière séquentielle en ajoutant des chiffres romains avant le titre. Elles doivent être citées en caractères gras (p. ex. Annexe I) dans le texte et décrites. On peut insérer les annexes avant ou après les références.

Notes et références : Les notes et les références doivent être numérotées, au moyen de chiffres arabes en exposant, en suivant l’ordre où elles sont mentionnées pour la première fois dans le texte. Les renvois ultérieurs au même ouvrage peuvent être indiqués par le même chiffre. Les renvois ultérieurs à d’autres pages d’un ouvrage précité doivent être indiqués au moyen d’un autre chiffre mais peuvent utiliser une référence abrégée indiquant le nom de famille de l’auteur, un titre abrégé et les numéros de page. Les exemples suivants indiquent comment formater les références. Les sources électroniques ou non publiées peuvent être citées mais on donnera préférence aux sources publiées. Si les notes de pied de page automatiques sont utilisées dans le manuscrit durant la révision par les pairs et l’étape d’édition subséquente, nous demanderons aux auteurs de les remplacer par des chiffres en exposant et une liste numérotée de notes et de références avant l’étape de mise en page.

1 Town, Harold and David P. Silcox, Tom Thomson: The Silence and the Storm (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1977), p. 93.

2 Gettens, Rutherford J. and Elisabeth West FitzHugh, « Malachite and Green Verditer, » in: Artists’ Pigments: A Handbook of Their History and Characteristics, vol. 2, edited by Ashok Roy (Washington: National Gallery of Art, 1993), pp. 183-202.

3 Brunet, Jacques and Pierre Vidal, « Les œuvres rupestres préhistoriques: étude des problèmes de conservation, » Studies in Conservation, vol. 25, no. 3, 1980, pp. 97-107.

4 Villers, Caroline, Lesley Stevenson and Julia Sharp, « The Technique of Four 14th-Century Italian Paintings on Fabric Supports, » in: Preprints, 10th Triennial Meeting, ICOM Committee for Conservation, vol. 1, Washington, DC, 22-27 August 1993, edited by Janet Bridgland (Paris: ICOM Committee for Conservation, 1993), pp. 104-109.

5 Lechtman, H., « The Gilding of Metals in Pre-Columbian Peru, » in: Application of Science in Examination of Works of Art, Proceedings of the Seminar, 15-19 June 1970, edited by William J. Young (Boston: Museum of Fine Arts, 1973), pp. 38-52.

6 Eusman, Elmer, « Iron Gall Ink, » in: The Iron-gall Ink Website, <https://irongallink.org/>. Accessed January 2018.

7 Stanley, Ted, « A Tool for Pressure Sensitive Tape Removal: the AirPencil », The Book and Paper Group Annual, vol. 17, 1998, <http://aic.stanford.edu/sg/bpg/annual/v17/bp17-16.html>. Accessed May 2017.

8 Klein and Sears, Petroglyphs Provincial Park: Site Preservation Feasibility Study (Toronto: Klein and Sears, Architects, 1983). Unpublished report.

9 Darcy, Sean (Archivist, National Archives of Canada), personal communication, April 2003.

10 Town and Silcox, Tom Thomson, pp. 99-101.

Droits d’auteur

L’ACCR détiendra les droits d’auteur des articles publiés dans le Journal, sauf exception. L’auteur est responsable d’obtenir l’autorisation de publier des images provenant de sources secondaires. Il est possible que le Journal subventionne une partie des frais de droits d’auteur; l’auteur est prié de soumettre une demande détaillée auprès de la rédaction.

Journal of the CAC

The Journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation (J.CAC) is the peer-reviewed journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation of Cultural Property (CAC). J.CAC superseded the Journal of the International Institute for Conservation – Canadian Group (J.IIC-CG) in 1997. One volume is published each year, in both print and electronic format, bringing developments in conservation treatment, research, history and theory to our members and to the conservation field in Canada and internationally.

Journal of the International Institute for Conservation - Canadian Group

J.IIC-CG

Archived Volumes

Open Access

Archived Journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation

J.CAC

Archived Volumes

Open Access

Recent Journal of the Canadian Association for Conservation

J.CAC

Recent Volumes

Member Portal

Submitting Manuscripts

Articles, notes, letters and book reviews are invited, written in English or French. Articles that record novel solutions to conservation problems (case histories) or original research in conservation methodology and material science, and conservation related artifact/art historical studies are especially welcome. Tutorial and review papers will be considered.

Papers may be submitted at any time during the year. Manuscripts are normally between 2500 and 5000 words in length but shorter technical notes are also of interest. Manuscripts are reviewed for suitability, accuracy and originality by at least two referees with expertise in the topic addressed by the paper. The referees’ opinions will be used by the editors in deciding whether to publish the paper and whether content editing is required. Papers accepted for publication will be copy edited to meet J.CAC style requirements and to ensure correctness, consistency and completeness. The peer review and editing process generally takes a minimum of three to six months. Once final editing is complete, papers are published in the volume that is currently in preparation.

Manuscripts submitted to the Journal for publication must not have been previously published elsewhere except in the form of a preliminary report, and must neither be under consideration nor in the process of publication with another publisher.

Manuscripts should be submitted in electronic form to the Journal email address (journal@cac-accr.ca), ideally as Microsoft Word files. For the initial stage of peer review, adoption of J.CAC style, as described below, is highly encouraged but is not necessary as long as all required information is included and the manuscript is readable and well organized. Integration of figures and tables within the text is encouraged, but these will need to be submitted as separate files when papers are accepted for publication. Automatic formatting features, such as endnotes and page numbers, can be used in the initial manuscript but will need to be removed by the author(s) at the final editing stage. All manuscripts are reviewed for suitability and clarity on submission and may be returned for editing to meet minimum requirements, if necessary, prior to peer review.

J.CAC Style

Papers accepted for publication will be edited to conform to J.CAC style as described below. We encourage authors to consider these style requirements when preparing their manuscripts. J.CAC editors will ensure that details of our publication style are fully met. Consult volumes published since 2016 for models of current style.

A template based on J.CAC style that includes these guidelines is provided for download below.

Title: Placed at the head of the manuscript, it should reflect contents accurately yet concisely.

Author(s): List all persons who contributed to the content of the article in order of their contribution.

Contact information: Include current institution or business, full postal address, and email address of all authors. Use superscripts linked to the authors’ names to indicate contact information for multiple authors.

Abstracts: Summarize the purpose of the paper and major results obtained in a concise paragraph of 200 words or less. Incorporate as many keywords as possible to aid in online searches. Abstracts will be published in both English and French. Authors who can submit their abstract in both languages are encouraged to do so.

Text: Use headings and subheadings (up to three levels) to give the paper structure. Most papers will have an Introduction (or Background) section at the beginning and a Conclusion that succinctly summarizes the entire paper at the end. Scientific research reports will usually include sections on Methods, Results and Discussion.

Units and nomenclature: Use SI Units (http://www.bipm.fr/) and IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) chemical nomenclature (http://www.iupac.org/nomenclature).

Tables: Number tables sequentially with Roman numerals and provide a title. In the text, Cite each table in the text using bold type (e.g., Table II) and describe its content and relevance.

Figures: Number figures (e.g. photographs, graphs, diagrams or drawings, radiographs, micrographs) using Arabic numerals and cite them in the text using bold type (e.g., Figure 3). Provide an explanatory caption of one or two sentences for each figure that concisely describes each image independent from the text and that includes photo credit and permission for use of images where applicable. Related images may be grouped and referred to with number-letter combinations (i.e., 1A,1B).

Once the submission has been accepted for publication, authors will be asked to submit individual figures as separate, high resolution digital files and to list figure captions on a separate page at the end of the article. Provide photographs as JPEG or TIFF files saved with minimal compression that permit good resolution when printed at 300 dpi. For example, a photograph printed to 3.5 x 2.5 inches requires a file that is 1050 x 750 pixels or roughly 2.5 MB. As an approximate guide, any JPEG files less than 400 kB are unlikely to be suitable for reproduction. Scale graphs and diagrams to a width of either 3.5 or 7.5 inches or submit them in a format (e.g. Excel file) that permits manipulation of overall size and fonts so that these can be modified to suit final layout. Diagrams or graphs submitted as image files should have a resolution of at least 600 dpi at the final reproduction size.

Colour printing: The Journal encourages the use of colour in figures and tables and assists by sharing the cost of colour printing with authors. Authors will not be charged for colour in versions posted to the CAC website.

Acknowledgements: Insert brief acknowledgements, if required, after the text.

Materials: List materials referred to in a treatment or study in alphabetical order at the end of the text and after the acknowledgements, giving trade name, composition (if known), and manufacturer or local supplier with complete postal address, telephone number, and/or website URL.

Appendices: Additional detailed information, such as precise methods or data tables, may be included as appendices. If more than one is used, number appendices sequentially with Roman numerals before the title. Cite each appendix in the text using bold type (e.g., Appendix I) and describe its content and relevance. Appendices may be inserted before or after references.

Notes and References: Number end notes and references in sequence, using superscript Arabic numerals, according to the first mention of each in the text. Subsequent references to the same work may use the same number. Subsequent references to different pages of previously cited works should have a distinct number but may use a shortened reference listing author last name(s), summary title and page number(s). Examples below illustrate how to format typical references. Published sources should be favoured whenever possible, but electronic and unpublished sources may be used. If automatic end notes are used in the manuscript during peer review and subsequent editing, authors will be asked to replace these with superscript numerals and a numbered list of notes and references prior to layout.

1 Town, Harold and David P. Silcox, Tom Thomson: The Silence and the Storm (Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 1977), p. 93.

2 Gettens, Rutherford J. and Elisabeth West FitzHugh, “Malachite and Green Verditer,” in: Artists’ Pigments: A Handbook of Their History and Characteristics, vol. 2, edited by Ashok Roy (Washington: National Gallery of Art, 1993), pp. 183-202.

3 Brunet, Jacques and Pierre Vidal, “Les œuvres rupestres préhistoriques: étude des problèmes de conservation,” Studies in Conservation, vol. 25, no. 3, 1980, pp. 97-107.

4 Villers, Caroline, Lesley Stevenson and Julia Sharp, “The Technique of Four 14th-Century Italian Paintings on Fabric Supports,” in: Preprints, 10th Triennial Meeting, ICOM Committee for Conservation, vol. 1, Washington, DC, 22-27 August 1993, edited by Janet Bridgland (Paris: ICOM Committee for Conservation, 1993), pp. 104-109.

5 Lechtman, H., “The Gilding of Metals in Pre-Columbian Peru,” in: Application of Science in Examination of Works of Art, Proceedings of the Seminar, 15-19 June 1970, edited by William J. Young (Boston: Museum of Fine Arts, 1973), pp. 38-52.

6 Eusman, Elmer, “Iron Gall Ink,” in: The Iron-gall Ink Website, <https://irongallink.org/>. Accessed January 2018.

7 Stanley, Ted, “A Tool for Pressure Sensitive Tape Removal: the AirPencil”, The Book and Paper Group Annual, vol. 17, 1998, <http://aic.stanford.edu/sg/bpg/annual/v17/bp17-16.html>. Accessed May 2017.

8 Klein and Sears, Petroglyphs Provincial Park: Site Preservation Feasibility Study (Toronto: Klein and Sears, Architects, 1983). Unpublished report.

9 Darcy, Sean (Archivist, National Archives of Canada), personal communication, April 2003.

10 Town and Silcox, Tom Thomson, pp. 99-101.

Copyright

Copyright of articles will be retained by the CAC with some exceptions. Authors are responsible for obtaining copyright permission for the use of images from secondary sources. The cost to authors of obtaining copyright permission may be partially subsidized by the Journal; authors are asked to submit a request and justification.