About Us

The Canadian Association for Conservation of Cultural Property is a federally-registered charitable not-for-profit organization that promotes responsible preservation of the cultural property that gives Canadians a sense of place, of history and of artistic expression.  The CAC serves individual and institutional members to provide opportunities for networking, professional development, and information dissemination.

Our Objectives

The general object of the Canadian Association for Conservation of Cultural Property is to further the dissemination of knowledge concerning the conservation of Canada’s cultural property and heritage. In so doing, the Corporation shall:

  1. Promote scholarly research in, and further the dissemination of knowledge of the conservation of cultural property, including but not restricted to, artifacts, works of art, natural history specimens, archival materials and monuments;
  2. With appropriate help from regional groups, hold periodic conferences, workshops or special meetings to discuss problems of mutual interest relating to the study of the conservation of cultural property;
  3. Publish materials of benefit to conservation;
  4. Promote the Code of Ethics and Guidance for Practice of the Corporation;
  5. Obtain the cooperation of related disciplines in the improvement, coordination and dissemination of conservation knowledge, methods and working standards;
  6. Promote partnership with other professionals in the conservation field as well as serve as an advocate for conservation to federal, provincial, and local government agencies and other organizations;
  7. Promote the awareness of conservation among related professionals and the general public; and
  8. Do all other things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objects of the Corporation.


Board Members

  • Alison Freake
    Alison Freake President
  • Lisa May
    Lisa May Vice-President
  • Kathy Bond
    Kathy Bond Secretary
  • Amanda Gould
    Amanda Gould Treasurer
  • Tania Mottus
    Tania Mottus Executive Councillor (Communications)
  • Mary Hocaliuk
    Mary Hocaliuk Executive Councillor (Professional Development)
  • Claire Titus
    Claire Titus Executive Councillor (Publications)
  • Laura Cunningham
    Laura Cunningham Eastern Regional Councillor
  • Elisabeth Czerwinski
    Elisabeth Czerwinski Western Regional Councillor
  • Simon Lambert
    Simon Lambert Strategic Alliance Liaison Councillor

Standing Committees

Bulletin – Laura Hashimoto

Communications – Tania Mottus

Conference – Lisa May

Emerging Conservators – Erika Range

Grants and Awards – Tracy Satin

Journal – Irene Karsten

Membership – Vacant

Training – Adriane VanSeggelen

Translation – Béatrice Leroux

Regional Representatives

Yukon – Valery Monahan

Northwest Territories – Rosalie Scott

British Columbia – Mauray Toutloff

Alberta – Alana Jansen

Saskatchewan – Mark Anderson

Manitoba – Stephanie Chipilski

Toronto – Roberta Sealy

Kingston – Fiona Graham

Ottawa – Caitlyn Picard

Montreal – Nathalie Richard

Quebec City – Vacant

New Brunswick – Dee Stubbs-Lee

Nova Scotia – Elizabeth Jablonski

Newfoundland and Labrador – Donna Teasdale


Charles Mervyn Ruggles Award

This award commemorates the distinguished achievements of Charles Mervyn Ruggles (1912-2001) in the development of the conservation profession in Canada. As CAC’s first honorary member, it is appropriate that our first award for outstanding contribution to the field carry his name. Recipients of this award will be celebrated for their contribution and achievement in conservation science, treatment, training and/or education, and for their development work in the field of conservation in Canada, and for promoting the ethics and ideals expressed in the CAC/CAPC Code of Ethics and Guidance for Practice.


Emerging Conservator Award

This award recognizes the dedication and outstanding potential of a future conservator in a Canadian conservation training program.  Recipients of this award will be celebrated for their accomplishments and leadership demonstrated during full time studies leading to a degree or diploma in any area of cultural property conservation.


Past Award Winners

Charles Mervyn Ruggles Award

Emerging Conservator Award